Finding Your Truth: Accepting & Living it

I just posted about Finding your Truth (Jan 18/09) and in there I stated there are several aspects of getting to the living of your truth, of living an authentic life (Jan 5/09) including finding your truth, getting to your truth, accepting your truth and living your truth.

We mostly covered finding your truth and I listed some tools on how to do that.  Getting to it is sometimes a bit harder but those questions, what did you like as a kid, what comes naturally to you, what did you dream about, what would you do if you were guaranteed success, are pretty good to use to suss out what your turht is. And in retrospect, I think that part of one’s truth is just being happy. I’ll come back to that though.

Accepting your truth and living your truth are what we’re going to look at here. I’m no expert, as I’ve not done this for a lot of people, but I am trying to do it now for myself.  So that just makes me a reporter from the front line.

So, assuming you’ve done your questionnaire of life, how do you accept what it is you’ve discovered? Well, sometimes it’s easy, you just say, hey that’s right, those things do make me happy,  and start incorporating those things into your life and you may even move straight to living your truth and making a living out of it. But is the end goal of finding your truth mean making a living at it too? Is it your path? Not necessarily.

As a healer, I feel a calling towards doing that as much as possible but I also enjoy some of the more mundane things in life like layout design and administration and such (yeah, I’m a kicker, aren’t I) so I want to incorporate into my life as many things as I like to do. I’m personally heading for the whole package deal – trying to get a healing practice up and running – but there are other things I want to do as well with that. I have a lot of different interests that can be addressed, probably most easily with volunteer work, but at this point, I’m worrying about the equally mundane things such as paying the bills. So, I need to find a balance between doing my calling, or living my truth, and probably an everyday kind of job that can help to pay the bills a little more consistently than what I’ve got going on now.

The other thing about accepting your truth, is to not beat yourself up about it. One of the hardest things for me when I decided to quit my job was that I realized that I had spent 20 years trying to fit into someone else’s idea of a work utopia and putting other people, or more specifically, my idealized vision of those people on a pedestal (hello, parents, girlfriends, friends, boyfriends, bosses??).  Well, let it go and get over it.  You can put as many people on a pedestal as you want but eventually their humanity is going to disappoint you and that is your problem, not theirs.  The truth is that we are all human and somewhere along the way, we are going to be disappointed, or disappoint, because of our own expectations.

I’ve been really good at the pedestal thing;  I was always trying to put someone on a pedestal to use as a guide or a mentor. I think a lot of people are.  We just want someone we can look up to.   But I never found one and the truth is, there isn’t one.  Looking “up” at someone else means that you aren’t looking at yourself.  And the only person who should be on that pedestal is you because the only person you can compare yourself to and hold yourself accountable to is yourself.  Put the ideal you up there on that pedestal.  Yes, you’ll disappoint yourself sometimes (maybe) but your opinion of you is the only that counts. And trying to hold yourself accountable to Source doesn’t even matter because Source loves you no matter who you are or what you do 9yes, we have free will).  So, it’s only your own rules that you end up breaking, by believing, as they used to say, in false gods. And then you kick yourself again, in the end, because you ignored your instincts, and your happiness meter all those other times and stayed where you were and let someone else call be your ideal.

Well, now that you’ve toppled the pedestal, and are just looking at yourself in the mirror and wondering how you got lost, you can kick yourself for being so blind and put yourself down, or you can take what you’ve learned and help others around you see the lessons you’ve learned. Some will take that and some won’t. Most won’t. People generally want to learn things themselves and there is merit in that as it creates a sympathetic energy for that situation but take my word for it, kick yourself for 5 minutes, or if you really have to, a day, but then get over it. You are where you need to be. It takes time for truth and reality to percolate together and meet at the same place. For some it comes sooner than later. So, hug yourself, have your cry if you need to, then congratulate yourself for realizing that you’ve seen the light, and start moving toward incorporating your truth into your life and living it.

But do you have to make a career of your truth? No, I don’t think so. If you like your job but you want more happiness in your life, incorporate those things you like into your personal time.
if you want to make your truth your career, go for it. Make it work for you.
If you want to make your truth your career and you have no idea how to do it, well, welcome to my world.
First off, I wouldn’t suggest quitting your job unless you are really ready to, and I don’t mean financially. I quit with no net in place. I knew I’d get enough money from my job on leaving that would cover me for a month, but I really didn’t know how I was going to make ends meet; I just needed to get out. Just a thought though, don’t leave it that long. It’s a miserable process to paint yourself into a corner and have to get out screaming, so to speak.
Start looking around and see who else is doing what you want to do. And don’t worry about competition, just focus on 100% success, remember? I’ll talk about competition another time though.

So, to recap, accept your truth, and be grateful for the recognition of it. If you’ve been wandering around feeling that you were in that weird desert twilight zone place, thank the gods, or Source, that you’ve found the door out. Walk towards the door. Open it and step through to the light. Be grateful; did I say that already? It’s true. Be grateful for all that you do have and don’t bemoan what you don’t have. This will really help to get things moving forward rather than the whole kicking yourself thing (it gets painful and leaves bruises).

Then start bringing in those things that you love to do. See what else is out there, how can you bring yoru truth into your life and start by doing it a little bit each day. Start with once a week. Ideally, you want to be doing something that makes you happy all the time. And happy doesn’t always mean right now. There may be other underlying needs that factor into your happiness (regular paycheck, that one TV show that makes you laufh all the time, that person who is only around once in a while, sitting on the beach).
You don’t have to jump off the cliff right away; it’s not going anywhere. Do some planning, do some compromise if you need to, but get some happy in there.

With love and light,
Jenn

Leave a comment

Filed under Authentic, healing, love, Truth

Leave a Reply

